Conversations

Lalitha Vish  |  Jellicles Farm  |  Sunol , CA

Subject: Agriculture and Robots Roundtable, Fall 2017

Dear Farmers! I am a small acreage urban farmer in the Bay Area, CA. I started in 2012 as a green newbie and have learnt so much along the way. Within the first year, I realised some things: 1. economies of scale dont work for small operations 2. labour will always be an issue 3. technology, unless created WITH farmers will be destructive to soil and bottomline. (example: pesticides, john deere with its dmca issue etc)

So I started working on a robotic autonomous platform that can do *some* tasks but not all. Along the way, I realised that $$$ is a big issue and that the tech sector with brighter minds is working on it. I paused my work for one year and started networking in Silicon Valley. I think its time to introduce farmers to Silicon Valley to start a dialogue.

It will take place in the Bay Area, but if anyone in the Farmsreach community wants to attend but is unable, please comment here or send me your questions/thoughts/comments. If you can attend, please send me a message. There will be more of these roundtables in the coming months. We are hoping to have investors, roboticists, engineers, startups, academia journalists and attorneys. Farmers, ranchers, vineyards, orchards and conservationists will also be represented.

Event details below:

Dear All,

With collaborators, Andra Keay of Silicon Valley Robotics (http://www.svrobo.org) and Joanne Pranksy of Robot MD(http://www.robot.md) , I have organized a series of Farm Roundtable Dinners for industry players to meet farmers to discuss and deliberate farm robotics and automation challenges with some good old future visioning thrown into the agenda.